Home » Uncategorized » On the ICC Workshop

On the ICC Workshop

I went to the ICC workshops on Wednesday and Friday from 12:30-2 both days. Let me start off by saying that I really enjoy working with children, and getting the chance to help them develop creatively was just amazing. I was able to spend a few moments with several different third grade children and help them with Kerpoof. There was one student that I helped with the end project of her story. At first she just wanted me to watch and listen to her story, which I did happily. At one point she couldn’t figure out why one of her text boxes weren’t working. I’ll be honest, I didn’t quite know how to fix it, but I was able to quickly figure it out and fix it with her. Then she didn’t know what to name it. We brainstormed for a few moments, and I asked her what if she named it after the lyrics she had just put into her story minutes ago. She immediately brightened up and quickly typed out the words and saved her story. 

It was great being able to help someone finish a story and see them be proud of their work like that. It’s something that I hope to do when I finally have my own classroom full of students. Granted they’ll high school students and not third graders, but I’m sure some of them will still have the maturity of a third grader.

Leave a Reply

