Home » Uncategorized » On Geocaching and Wiki Pages

On Geocaching and Wiki Pages

I picked geocaching because I have actually been able to experience it, so writing about it seemed like a simple enough task. However, I quickly learned that just because you like something and may have done it, it does not mean that writing a wiki page about it will be easy. There is a lot more to writing a wiki page than I originally thought. I realized that you need background info, resources, and more information than ‘oh I’ve done this. You use a GPS,’ but I had no idea how to put it all together and make it actually look professional and at least semi informative. I never realized that it takes a lot more than just a basic knowledge of something. You almost need to be an expert. And I’m definitely no expert.

I think that wiki pages, Wikipedia, and other editable places of information are a really great thing to use and have in this digital age since everything is constantly changing in both the world and technology. Especially since pages like “O-type main sequence star” are less likely to be edited inappropriately. Whereas pages like “Justin Bieber” might be edited everyday. Informative and I suppose more ‘serious’ pages that students and people turn to, to get actual usable information are extremely helpful, because you never know when an O-type main sequence star could suddenly change or Justin Bieber could get a new haircut.

Overall I would say that I enjoyed writing my Wiki page, but maybe on the next one I’ll try to do a bit more research on how to actually write one.

2 thoughts on “On Geocaching and Wiki Pages

  1. Pingback: Practice Blogfolio | with a tender heart

  2. Pingback: Final Blogfolio | with a tender heart

Leave a Reply

