Home » Uncategorized » In relation to “Faith, Trust, & Pixie Dust”

In relation to “Faith, Trust, & Pixie Dust”

I am a slow learner. I learn best in calm environments where I don’t have a deadline hanging over my head. However, I also learn really well when I’m stressed out and/or in a constant state of motion. I think it depends on how I feel that day. Was I in a good mood? Was I pissed off? Was I ready to crawl into the cocoon of blankets and pillows on my bed and not come out for a few days? I am a big focuser on how I feel at certain times. In fact the way I remember things depends on it. I remember events based on how I felt at the time; I’m not good with details. 

Back in my other post “Faith, Trust, & Pixie Dust”, I talked about the skill of overcoming my fear of heights. This was a skill I learned and am still learning through the only way I know how to really learn it, slowly and from very high in the air. I don’t get the opportunity everyday to be up really high, so it’s difficult to gauge how I’m doing. One day I can say ‘Oh yeah, I’m fine. Heights? Pshh’ and then the next day the mere thought of looking out the window of the fifth floor of the library almost terrifies me. What motivates me to continue developing this skill however is my stubbornness. There is no way I’m going to let something like the clichéd fear of heights stop me from doing something I want to do. 

Basically I am a learner that will attempt to learn in almost every situation. I would prefer a calm, laid back one, but if I had to learn something in a half hour, then I’d do my damndest to get it done. Now if we talk about actually retaining the skill or information I just learned, then that’s another story.

Leave a comment